Title Image
community structure
plans & projects
permaculture design course
wwoof & help x
stay with us
land for sale


Otamatea Eco-Village accepts visitors who are members of both the New Zealand WWOOF (Willing Workers on Organic Farms) and Help X schemes. Potential visitors MUST write, phone or email to arrange their visit BEFORE they arrive.

WWOOFers and Help Xers are hosted by eco-village members and must make arrangements directly with them. There are six members presently participating in the schemes and details about them can be found below.

Marijke Valkenburg & Robert ter Veer:
Tel - (09)280 9590 or 021891484 | Email - thefarside11[at]gmail.com

We are in final stages of creating a very creative Timbercrete dwelling/Castle. We offer accommodation in a large barn (mezzanine floor) or space permiting one of our cosy cabins. Work varies day to day - everything from from cow chasing to mosaics. We enjoy music, movies (we have a home theatre) and brewing our own beer and cider.

Sabine Drueckler & Wolf Hiepe:
Tel - (09) 431 2231 | Email - pukahu[at]slingshot.co.nz

Pukahu is the name of our place at the Eco Village. We have a big and welcoming home, with self contained WWOOFer and guest accommodation in the barn. All buildings are built using the light earth method. We have dry composting toilets, we are using alternative power (solar and wind) only and have a grey water system.

We are passionate about creating a sustainable life style with a high degree of self sufficiency. We enjoy the bounty from the garden and land. We are self sufficient in most vegetables, in fruit during the summer months, in eggs, meat and dairy (we are making cheese and sausages). We also brew beer and distill spirits.

We are hosting WWOOFers from all over the world, we like them to stay for a minimum of 2 weeks, ideally longer.

Jude & Daniel Tohill:
Tel - (09) 431 2577 Email - danieltohill[at]xtra.co.nz

We are a family with 2 children (Oscar and Poppy). We live in a straw bale house with earth roof. Jobs include planting, vineyard, fencing. Interests: beekeeping and playing music.